VTP mode change

Unanswered Question
Jan 30th, 2007

If I decide to change the operating vtp mode in a switch, let's say from server to transparent mode; do I lose the VLANs configuration, I mean, the vlans created in the old vtp mode get erased..?

I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Loading.
m-haddad Tue, 01/30/2007 - 16:20

Hello,

NO you won't lose the VLANs. You will still keep the vlan database on the local switch. However, in future any created new VLAN on the VTP server won't be installed on that switch.

Regards,

blass Tue, 01/30/2007 - 18:59

I haven't ever really had a problem moving from VTP server to transparent., but I have had some problems with changing the VTP domain. I had to delete some trunks and recreate them

Actions

This Discussion