Views
Helpful
Replies

SNMPv3

rachelhor
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

This is my first time trying to use and configure snmp v3 on my cisco routers and switches.

Q1) for the engine ID, should I use local or remote?

Q2) if use remote, how and where can I find out what is the remote engine ID?

I am using HP Openview on Windows 2003

Q3) a friend used local engineID and it works for snmpv3. But the more I read documents on the cisco website the more I think it should be remote. So why and how does the local engineID can work for snmpv3?

Q4) another friend tried to use Ciscoworks for the snmpv3, but the ciscoworks does not prompt him for the option of "encrypted" or username/password.

What is lacking?

Any evaluation software that I can use?

Pls revert asap.

Tks!

rgds,

rachel

9 Replies 9

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Your questions need more context. If you are just using SNMPv3 to do polling from an NMS to an agent, then you don't need to worry about the engineID. The devices should already have a pre-defined engineID, and the manager (i.e. OV) will use engineID discovery to figure out what it is.

All you need to configure for simple polling is an SNMPv3 group followed by an SNMPv3 user. If you want to do more advanced operations with views and ACLs, see http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/tk362/technologies_tech_note09186a0080094489.shtml .

CiscoWorks LMS 2.5 and higher currently supports SNMPv3 authNoPriv. This means you will not be able to encrypt the SNMP payload, but you will be able to hash the user credentials using either MD5 or SHA-1. SNMPv3 authPriv support is planned for a future release. There are evaluation copies of CiscoWorks available that you should be able to get from your sales team.

Hi,

Yes, I just need simple polling.

So, engineID will be the engineID of the device itself, that is, the router?

Also, since I Ciscoworks don't have authpriv yet, I used another management software called Castlerock.