cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Losing the battle with UT

kjackson74
Level 1
Level 1

I am hoping that someone will have the answer to my problem so that I can gain the upperhand with User Tracking. Right now, I am just wanting to use it so that I can see which MAC (and therefore pc) is on which port. I don't even care about seeing the actual user. The problem is some switches show up in user tracking and some don't. Here is what I have done:

I have checked Topo Services to make sure the ones that are not showing up in UT are showing up in Topo

I have checked the SNMP community strings

I have debugged and gotten a 20 MB file. I traced the entries for switches that do show up and switches that don't and the only thing that stood out to me was this recurring error "Unable to fetch STP device instance params from device..."

I have checked the switches' IOS/type to see if there was a pattern in those that don't show up and those that do

I am new to this, and the other Network Admin here isn't a big fan of LMS and doesn't have time to mess with it. My problem may be an error in my expectations of UT, in which case I would be grateful for someone to set me straight so that I can quit banging my head against the wall.

Thank you

Kari

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Regardless of whether or not other switches work, the '@' sign is the most likely cause of your problem. Change the community string to something without the '@' and your problem should go away.

The STP errors are most likely indicative of the same problem. ANI is trying to get STP data for each instance of spanning tree using community string indexing. The double '@' in the queries are being rejected by the switches, and thus you get an error.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee