Failed CCNA twice: Advice needed!

Unanswered Question
Feb 13th, 2007

In 2000 I successfully passed the old 604-501 CCNA exam however I failed twice trying to re-certify and would like some input on how to improve my weak areas. For the first test I studied with the Exam Cram and CCNA for Dummies and failed horribly with a 796. After that I purchased the Cisco Press Flash Card book and another Exam Cram book full of nothing but questions. I improved my score a lot but still failed with a 829. I have since bought the Cisco Press 2 book study guide.

Would I be better off taking the Intro & ICND test as opposed to the one 604-801 exam? Or should I just focus on improving in Planning & design, and Technology? Anyways, here is a breakdown of my two tests:

1st Test

Score 796

Planning and Design 62%

Implementation and Operation 80%

Troubleshooting 72%

Technology 64%

2nd Test

Score 821

Planning and Design 66%

Implementation and Operation 75%

Troubleshooting 88%

Technology 61%

Any input greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance...

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Kamal Malhotra Tue, 02/13/2007 - 15:02

Hi,

I am not sure which book you are talking about, but look for the ICND book by Wendell Odom. Its good. Once having gone through it (alongwith a lot of hands on), go for the practice questions.

HTH,

jacquesd Thu, 02/15/2007 - 09:50

Hi,

OK the reason for failing is probably related to 'examn cram'. The Cisco Press book by Odom are good. They do expand beyond exam topics, but this is about knowledge after all. You should do well after reading them (I got 950 if I remember correctly).

I also failed CCNA once, and the reason for that was simply subnetting. I practiced until I could do it within 10 seconds flat. After all, you know that it is one area they will test you on (again and again). No reason to waste time by not knowing it by heart.

Hope for better luck next time!

Jacques

rahulawati Thu, 02/15/2007 - 19:14