cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS and summary addresses

770801tvdhaar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi I'm studying for the Secure Converged networks exam, I have a question about how LSR's handle summarised routes.

ie.A packet from network 10.10.10.0/24 arrives at the LSR, the LSR is then configured to summarise to 10.0.0.0/8 will there be LFIB entries for both networks and will any networks be dropped?

8 Replies 8

oldcreek12
Level 1
Level 1

There shouldn't be LFIB entry for 10.0.0.0/8 as it is a local route to null0.

The router which summarizes will assign label for for both the entries /24 as well as /8 ( implicit null for the /8 network - as locally originated).

But the router downstream would not have the /24 network in its FIB and will only propagate(assign new) the /8 entry label.

So there will be 2 different LSPs 1 for /24(from source to the summarizing router) and 2nd lsp for /8 route from summary router till the destination.

So there wont be an end to end lsp for /24 route and this will cause broken LSP ( the worst problem)

So your ping/data inside the core would work (ip lookup at the summary router to change the LSP)

But the application traffic (like vpn traffic with another inner label) would be dropped at the point of summarization as the router cannot remove the outer label to look at the ip address and route through ip routing.

hope this is clear

quote "The router which summarizes will assign label for for both the entries /24 as well as /8 ( implicit null for the /8 network - as locally originated).

But the router downstream would not have the /24 network in its FIB and will only propagate(assign new) the /8 entry label."