Views
Helpful
Replies

IP Phone Application - Attendance tracker

carlytolson
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am doing a university assignment and am looking at developing an XML application for a 7940 /7960 or 7970 phone which allows teachers to enter students as being absent or present at the beginning of each class. I haven't written XML before, but I have a basic overview of how call manager and IP phones work. I'm still establishing whether this project would be too complex for me to do, or whether it's a feasible idea.

It was suggested that I can use LDAP/XML to access the active directory and write files to it for Teacher/class/student to then write back to on absent/present. This brings about a lot of other questions as to how would the data be gathered for report writing at the end of the semester, how it should then be displayed (ie: table with students & dates absent & percentage) and who would enter the data initially to build the classes. I'm also not an AD expert, so i'm not really sure how well this would work under AD, and if infact i'm going to be allowed to touch the colleges AD implementation.

Does this sound like a do-able assignment? is this even possible to do? Are there any other ways of doing this? or would this be the best way? I've been trying to research how to integrate Cisco ip phone/XML implementation with AD, but haven't found anything definitive, are there any good documents/sources available?

Also.. I can't access the http://www.aptigen.net website that a few people on the forums have mentioned, are there any other simular sorts of applications to emulate the IP phone & development?

Thanks & appreciate any feedback you can supply for me :)

- Carly

6 Replies 6

carlytolson
Level 1
Level 1

Change of plans.. they're using a proprietary database with ODBC.. guess it's back to square 1! :)

Don't you mean exchange? AD holds user data, but a user's mailbox (emails, contacts, calendar) is in exchange.