cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN Client to PIX 7.2

ljohnson21
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to PIX and I would like to set up a connection so I can connect to PIX over the internet. I have the client software. What is a basic configuration can I use on the pix to make this work.

8 Replies 8

Kamal Malhotra
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Try the following document :

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/customer/products/ps6120/products_configuration_example09186a008060f25c.shtml

HTH,

Please rate the post if it helps,

Regards,

Kamal

I was able to set up the client vpn connection but once I have a connection I am not able to connect to any devices on the inside network. The client also gets a default gateway which is the same as the ip address. Is this normal? I am only able to ping the inside interface of the PIX but no other devices in the network. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

L

Hi,

Enable "isakmp nat-t" on the PIX.

Hope this helps !!

-Kanishka

Hi Kanishka,

I tried this command but it did not help. the host uses it's own ip address as the default gateway. Is this normal? How can I change this?

Thanks,

If you do not have split tunneling enabled, the client will always have the pool iip as the default gateway. Its normal.

I would like to check the NAT rules on the PIX, if you can post them.

-Kanishka

The inside network is 1.1.1.0/24. Below are the ACL's and NAT rules.

ip local pool remotevpn 1.1.1.245-1.1.1.246 mask 255.255.255.252

access-list INSIDE_nat0_outbound extended permit ip any 1.1.1.244 255.255.255.252

global (OUTSIDE) 1 interface

nat (INSIDE) 0 access-list INSIDE_nat0_outbound

nat (INSIDE) 1 1.1.1.0 255.255.255.0

access-list OUTSIDE extended permit ip any any

access-list INSIDE_access_in extended permit ip any any

access-list OUTSIDE_access_in extended permit ip any any

access-group INSIDE_access_in in interface INSIDE

access-group OUTSIDE_access_in in interface OUTSIDE

access-group OUTSIDE out interface OUTSIDE