Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN failover question.

a-robinson
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Please bear with me as I am quite new to VPN's. I have an 837 ADSL router and would like to create two VPN tunnels back to different Juniper routers at the head office, with either vpn taking over if the other one fails. My questions,

1. Is this possible?

2. If it is then is there any sample configs anywhere

3. Will it be active/standby or can I load balance over the two VPN's

Thanks and Regards

Andy.

6 Replies 6

kaachary
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This is possible. Do you have two public ip address on the Router ?

If not, you can create a crypto map with two set peers statements.

The tunnel would be active/standby type thing, not load balanced.

-Kanishka

Hi Kanishka,

Thanks for the reply, we have two routers at the head office each with their own public IP address, both with the same crypto key. What I was thinking from your reply was to have two set peer statements in the crypto map with one being marked as the default and also two crypto key statements one for each peer ip? e.g

crypto ipsec key Pre-Shared-Secret address x.x.x.1

crypto ipsec key Pre-Shared-Secret address x.x.x.2

crypto map static-map 1 ipsec-isakmp

set peer x.x.x.1 default

set peer x.x.x.2

Am I along the right lines here? Also if the default VPN fails, is there any way for the router to automatically fail back to the default when it comes back on-line? Someone has mentioned DPD?

Thanks for your help.

Regards

Andy.

You'r absolutely right. Except for the fact that, in this case, the tunnel can be originated from this router only.

Isakmp keepalives, might help you, but they do not work with the Non Cisco devices. So, in this case the "default" keyword will help you.

*Please rate if this helped.

-Kanishka

Kamal Malhotra
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Andy,