cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Inter VLAN routing on Catalyst 3750

Robeast29
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Vlans so any help is greatly appreciated. I am wondering how I can route between two vlans on the same switch. I created a vlan (500) and assigned two ports to it. The vlan 500 ip address is 10.0.101.2/24. The vlan 1 ip address is 192.168.0.30/24. When I am consoled into the switch I can't ping the vlan 500 interface. So I obviously I can't ping the 10.0.101.2 interface from the 192.168.0.0/24 subnet. I plugged a computer directly into the switch and was able to ping the vlan1 interface(192.168.0.30). I also added a route to the computer to go 192.168.0.30 if it wants to get the 10.0.101.0 network. I've tried to add routes on the switch to each subnet but it didn't seem to work.

Here is what my config looks like.

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/1

switchport access vlan 500

switchport mode access

!

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/2

switchport access vlan 500

switchport mode access

interface Vlan1

ip address 192.168.0.30 255.255.255.0

!

interface Vlan500

ip address 10.0.101.2 255.255.255.0

I was doing research and was finding different things about trunking, but is that really necessary when the two vlans are on the same switch?

Thanks in advance to any help.

9 Replies 9

Danilo Dy
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Your configuration looks okay. However, have you enabled routing? Is your IOS EMI model? Execute "ip routing" in configuration mode.

Download this Cisco Catalyst 3750 configuration guide book for 12.2(35)SE http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps5023/products_configuration_guide_book09186a0080763466.html

Here's all the configuration guide for different IOS feature set, pick your IOS trail (SE, SEE, SED, ...) http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps5023/products_installation_and_configuration_guides_list.html

It has everything from stacking, configuring VLAN, STP, QoS, HSRP, Troubleshooting, IPv6, etc...