Views
Helpful
Replies

FTP server behind a Cisco 2811 with Firewall

phuong-le
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a Cisco newbie, :). And I really need your help or direction. I am trying to setup a ftp server using Windows XP Pro. This server has a static local ip, and this local ip is Natted to a public IP on my router. The router has configuration with vpn, firewall... If I vpn in from the internet, I can connect, transfer data to my ftp server using the local ip without problems. But If I disconnect the vpn, and try to connect to the ftp server using the public IP, I can login without problem. However, if I try to list, transfer....data from/to my ftp server, it just hang on me. I guess there are something missing with my firewall configurations, and it just keep blocking the service. I did search a lot for did issue, but all I find is exactly what I have: nat the local ip to public, then grant access to ftp port and ftp-data port on the public ip. I am at loss now, and I am not sure where to start. Below is some config from my router and the problems when I am trying to connect to my ftp site using dos prompt. I thank you in advance. Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

partial configuration from Cisco 2811 router:

--------------------------------------

ip cef

ip port-map ftp port tcp 20

ip inspect name FW tcp

ip inspect name FW udp

ip inspect name FW icmp

ip inspect name FW h323

ip inspect name FW rcmd

ip inspect name FW realaudio

ip inspect name FW smtp

ip inspect name FW sqlnet

ip inspect name FW streamworks

ip inspect name FW tftp

ip inspect name FW vdolive

ip inspect name FW ftp

ip nat inside source static local.ftp.server.ip public.ip route-map t1-map

access-list 111 permit tcp any host public.ip eq ftp

access-list 111 permit tcp any host public.ip eq ftp-data

cisco2811#show ip port-map ftp

Default mapping: ftp tcp port 21 syste

m defined

Default mapping: ftp tcp port 20 user

defined

--------------------------------------