Views
Helpful
Replies

Network Tuning

amacdos
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys ,

I am sorry , I am still a new Network Administrator . I have question , on how to tune the network .

I am a LAN Environment . We have servers , pc and printers .

Can anyone help me on how to monitor the network and tune the network , to make faster .

Regards

Alman

12 Replies 12

David Stanford
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This isn't something that can be answered easily, but have a look at this link for some ideas:

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/126/perfmgmt.htm

Hi thanks Davis ,

Is there any tools available like Ciscoworks or anything to check the network .

Regards

Amacdos

Hi Amacdos,

Start with a freely available utilities to monitor your device. Check MRTG http://oss.oetiker.ch/mrtg/, it can monitor Cisco devices port bandwidth utilization, CPU and Memory utilization. It can also monitor LINUX/W2K3 Network Card, CPU, Memory, and partition utilization and some application processes.

Dandy

Thanks Dandy ,

I am using MRTG to monitor the link utilisations . Basically from MRTG we can see the utilisations , there's a sudden change on the network ,but how do we check the changes ...

Just curious ..

What change? Take note that MRTG can't do what commercial application able to do like auto-map the network.

Medan ,

The change ,that I am trying to say is for example internet link utilisation was up from 70 % and 90 % . From here , how do I investigate and check the cause of the heavy utilisation . I did not ask anything about an automap the network by using MRTG .

I am aware that MRTG will only give you , the link utilisation , pure monitoring , you can't do anything else .

My question was how to investigate the cause of the problem . From MRTG reading , what is the next thing to check , like appplication layer and protocol layers . Such tcp window size , or anything like that .

As I am introduced myself as a new guy in networking .I am not a Consultant