Views
Helpful
Replies

Router 857w error configuration

supergrip7
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am Daniel from Spain, trying to setting up my ADSL connection with out sucess.

Every single time that I am trying to configured by console an IP address for my new router fastethernet0\1\2\3 appear the following error; (% IP address may not be configured on L2 links).

I have erase the configuracion and also reseted the router for the manufacture values, but it did not help me at all.

I am not a router expert, and I appreciate if you tell me the procedures to fix this issue.

16 Replies 16

jay.johnson1
Level 1
Level 1

I'm trying to set up my 871w right now and found the same problem. Basically, you "can not" assign an ip address to the LAN ports like a regular IOS router. Think of your 857 as being a "linksys wrt54g" on drugs. The porst on your 857w are equivalent to how the structure of a linksy SOHO router is (you can not assign separate ip addresses to them). The only internal ip addres allows initially is the one you set for the router.

Jay

Certified: CCNA (R/S, Security, Voice), CCDA, CCNP (R/S)

ahmednaas
Level 4
Level 4

Here is a sample configuration:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a008045d279.html

Notice that you assign ip addresses to VLANs and not directly to L2 ethernet ports.

the error is refering to a layer two device/port make sure the interface u want to put the ip address on is a layer 3 interfaces.

can u post ur config so we can take a look at it...

ciao flash

supergrip7
Level 1
Level 1

I do not what I am doing wrong with my ADSL router configuration, but let me attached it.

Thanks in advance

Daniel

Hi Daniel,