Views
Helpful
Replies

VOIP Infrastructure

cafecrm170
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm studying the installation of VOIP infrastructure, not PABX, not analogic phones.

My interrogation relates the necessary material. I currently have a CISCO 1811 router, if I add a MCS-7815 server with the CISCO Call Manager software, that be sufficient to receive and send calls?

Thanks for your help.

I'm sorry for my english, i'm frenchies.

10 Replies 10

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

To work with the IP phones, you need an cisco switch, possibly with Power over ethernet, and CallManager.

Then you need a voice gateway (rotuer) to interface the PSTN. Best thing is ISDN BRI.

The 1811 does not do anything of the above.

Hope this helps, please are all useful posts!

Thanks for your answer. I agree with the material which you quoted (Switch, Call Manager).

I don't understand the utility of the gateway. I thought that the gateway was useful if I had the IP phones and analogic phones, that is not my case.

I cannot use my WAN connections to forward my calls ?

Thank you.

Yes you can use Internet for calls, using what is called an ITSP. However, for local and emergency calls, a local interface to the PSTN remains very useful. For this you use ISDN or, in second choice, analog FXO.

Now there is a feature in the router that does the basics of what callmanager does, however is not supported on the 18xx, the smaller router would be a 1751 / 1760 (these are EOS now) or 28xx. It is called CommunicationsManager Express (CME).

Hope this helps, if so please rate post!

If I use a ITSP and only one ITSP without PSTN connection. Have I need a VOIP gateway?

My equipments would be then CISCO 1811 router, CISCO switch and CISCO Call Manager software.

I am sorry to insist on this point but this point remains imprecise.

Thnk you.

Hi,

If you are planning to use a Voice 'IP' service provoder you can use your 1811 Cisco router to get a WAN connectivity with that IP provider.