Views
Helpful
Replies

Requirements for SIP Gateway

clamasters
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to VoIP and have been given a little research to do. What do I need to configure on our router (Cisco 3845) to do the job that our AudioCodes device is doing (i.e. what do I need to configure to make the router a SIP/Voice gateway for Voice over Frame Relay connections)? We are using Interactive Intellegence software and Polycom phones for our phone system if that helps.

22 Replies 22

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

A little network diagram pretty please ? Where are you doing voice over Frame Relay? What is the other SIP party? Is there a PBX for the phones ?

I have posted a very simplified network diagram at http://www.curtis-lamasters.com/networking/vofr.jpg

I'm afraid I do not know what you mean by SIP Party? The other phone system is a ShoreTel if that helps. The SIP traffic from the corporate segment goes to an AudioCodes proxy/gateway which plugs into a TI going to our ISP. We had a second one that was working at the VoFR proxy/gateway that failed and instead of replacing it we decided to use the router for this service. Now I just need to konw what to setup on the router itself to do such a task.

Hello,

I do not see the failed device in the diagram. Into what it was plugged ? When doing VoFR, one side was the failed device, and the other side (branch) was what ? Do you use Frame Relay for data also, and if so do you have separate PVC ?

The thing is that the router can certainly do VoFR and a variety of other things, but unless one see the whole picture, is hard to tell what is the next best move.