cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New config add ACL for ICMP and lose implicit ACL

franktclark
Level 1
Level 1

Yes, I am a newbie... I have the initial configuration of the ASA5520 finished and started adding some ACL. I can access lower security levels just fine but I want everybody to be able to ping everybody else. I tried:

icmp permit 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 inside

icmp permit 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 dmz

but that doesn't do what I need. I tried:

access-list Inside_access_in extended permit icmp any any

access-list DMZ_access_in extended permit icmp any any

access-group DMZ_access_in in interface DMZ

access-group Inside_access_in in interface Inside

It worked but I lost the ability to reach a lower security interface with the implicit rule. I tried to manually create the implicit rules but couldn't. What am I doing wrong?

Do I have to individually create every ACL for every device I want to ping?

7 Replies 7

vitripat
Level 7
Level 7

Hey There ..

Using ACLs to permit ICMP through firewall was old efficient way. However, now we can inspect icmp traffic. So if a host on higher security initiates a ping to a host on lower security interface, this will be inspected by firewall and we dont need to use acl to specifically permit the ICMP-reply.

By default, you should have following configuration on your ASA-

class-map inspection_default

match default-inspection-traffic

policy-map global_policy

class inspection_default

inspect dns maximum-length 512

inspect ftp

inspect h323 h225

inspect h323 ras

inspect rsh

inspect smtp

inspect sqlnet

inspect skinny

inspect sunrpc

inspect xdmcp

inspect sip

inspect netbios

inspect tftp

service-policy global_policy global

Thus, now to enable stateful ICMP inspection, you need to implement following commands-

policy-map global_policy

class inspection_default

inspect icmp

inspect icmp error

"inspect icmp error" will also allow traceroute to pass through.