cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

11500 GSLB Newbie - help needed

acomiskey
Level 10
Level 10

I'm new to this equipment so bear with me. I am hoping to get a "plain english" explanation about the following doc. Here is my situation. I have 2 sites, a main and a backup, different networks, geographically remote with a point to point connection between the two. I also have a l2l tunnel between the two if it is needed. I have a web application I need to establish some redundancy for. If site A or webserver A goes down I need traffic to be directed to Site B Webserver B. Easy enough probably, according to the doc, it sounds like this is what I need to do, but I must be missing something. Any further explanation would be helpful and appreciated.

Basic Global Load Balancing Site Redundancy Using the CSS with DNS

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/contnetw/ps792/products_configuration_example09186a00801dcd75.shtml

18 Replies 18

joquesada
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Have you already configured the CSS? If so, what are you missing? or what is not working for you?

What parts of this setup are giving you a hard time. Thanks!

Regards,

Jose.

I have not yet set this up. It is a little difficult because the diagram shown does not display all the ip addresses.

I'm really just trying to understand how it works.

Ok, I have a specific question now. In the document referenced above "Basic Global Server Load Balancing Site Redundancy Using the CSS with DNS", I have a few questions.

Are the CSS's becoming the authoritative DNS servers for the domain www.yourdomain.com ? If so, that means I have to create 2 NS records at my authoritative dns, 1 primary to VIP 1, and 1 secondary to VIP 2? I know it says this in the document, but if they mean A records instead of NS records, then the CSS's are not authoritative for www.yourdomain.com.