Views
Helpful
Replies

Need Cisco 1700 Series Router Configuration Help

iemmatarheel
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All!

I really need your help. I'm a Network student and I'm attempting to configure my first "real world" set of routers. I'm learning that the "lab" environment and the real world are 2 different things. I'm hoping someone can help me quickly. My office is going live with their new system next week and I need to get these routers communicating properly.

Here's the setup: I have a triangle setup with the bottom of the triangle open. At the top of the triangle is the main office (NB) which has the terminal services server, app server, data server, etc. I have 2 satelite offices (MHC and JAX) currently connected with frame relay. We are converting to fiber in the main office (NB) coming in through a layer 3 switch provided and configured by the ISP and non-configurable to us. I have a 1700 series router on the internal side of the layer 3 switch with one bri port that I am configuring to use with an adapter and one fastethernet port. The ISP assigned IP is 208.180.151.222/30. I assigned the router 208.180.151.221/30. Since there will be 20-30 computers initially accessing services I configured NAT with PAT and ip route statements that I'm not sure are stated correctly.

Both satelite offices will RDT to the main office NB and will access data/apps, etc. from there. They will access the internet from their location rather than going through the NB site.

I need to at least get the NB office and MHC office talking and I can then customize the configuration for JAX. I initially put in NAT and PAT and was able to ping within the NB office but not get out to the internet. With the ip route statements added, I have not found out yet whether or not it was successful since I am not the one that is doing the testing.