cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2600 console problems

jhaines12345
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I am new to the cisco world and have a 2600 router I have been playing with. I recently tried to perfrom a password receovery using Cisco's website link http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/474/pswdrec_2600.shtml

I was able to perfrom to steps through the console cable and using hyperterminal. I performed all the steps up to 12 off the link. It started to perfrom which looked like a copy C^ C^ C^ then my child turned the router off on accident. I know I know young kids + technology = disaster.

Now when I turn the router on and and create a hyperterminal like i did before (checking all the setting 100 times). I never get a router prompt. The hyperterminal screen just blinks at me. I tried to hit enter a few times but still no luck..... I have waited up to 30 minutes with no luck. If anyone could help me or point me in the right direction, I would be greatful. Thanks a million

3 Replies 3

mahmoodmkl
Level 7
Level 7

Hi

have u tried all the baud settings.i mean all the console speeds from the hyperterminal,if not u have to try one by one all the settings until u see the console messages.

Thanks

Mahmood

Hi

It's possible the port speed may be messed up. Try different speed settings on your hyperterminal and see if that helps.

A quick search on Netpro found a link posted by Rick that you may find helpful;

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps259/products_tech_note09186a008009433b.shtml#setting_speed

From the above link:

Cisco 2600 and 3600 Console Baud Reset Jumper