Absolute beginner - where should I start?

Answered Question
Apr 6th, 2007

I've been working in IT for 10 years now, and doing systems administration for the last 3. I've got an MCSE under 2000 and 2003, and have a good handle on windows based networking.

However, I've never done anything on any kind of Cisco product. I don't even know how to connect to or log on to a switch or router to do something on it.

I now have to learn enough to pass the CCNA and I have 2 years to do it. But I'm at a complete loss as to where to start.

Can anyone give me some guidance? What's the most basic form of training I can get my hands on? I'm confident I can learn this stuff, I'm just a bit hesitant to dive into a course on programming switches when I don't even know how to connect to one.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by scottmac about 9 years 7 months ago

Todd Lammie's book is very good and a frequent recommendation.

I don't think the order is important, but anything you can get (avoid braindumps for now, there are some bad Q&As in those sites)can be helpful.

Everyone learns differently, but what works for me would be to do a section for the Lammie book, then do the same section from the Internetworking Guide.

Sometimes reading / hearing / following several different sources helps to fill in the blanks (i.e., some aspect in the Lammie book might be unclear, but the additional explanation from the IG (or other source) might provide additional insight).

Good Luck

Scott

Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
srue Fri, 04/06/2007 - 19:21

Do you work in an environment that has a test lab or a few spare cisco devices laying around? or even live equipment that you can log into?

2 years to pass the CCNA should be easy for you. I'd start with the CCNA book by Todd Lammle (published by Sybex www.sybex.com). This is much easier to read for 'beginners' than Cisco Press's books, imho.

Here's something you might find helpful also: http://www.free-labs.com/

good luck.