cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I tell if site-to-site VPN has connected?

kevintubbs
Level 1
Level 1

I know this is a stupid question. I've spent a couple of weeks trying to get two ASA 5505 to connect a simple site-to-site VPN, but I just can't get it to work. This is very humbling - I've been a computer programmer and administrator for nearly 30 years, but for some reason I just haven't yet found the key to getting this off the ground.

I'm trying to build a hub/spoke VPN with a main office and four branches. To begin with, I would be happy just to get the main office to connect via site-to-site VPN with one branch.

I've tried the VPN Wizard in ASDM numerous times, I've tweaked using CLI numerous times. I've read the manuals, I've searched countless web sites and forums. Is it supposed to be this hard? How do you tell when you have succeeded? The main screen of ASDM has a section that shows the number of VPN tunnels, and they are always 0.

When you get the config correct, does the VPN just magically appear? Or do you have to reset or "start" it somehow to initiate the connection? What is the typical way people tell whether or not the VPN tunnel has been established? I can't look at the front panel VPN light because I'm configuring both ASAs remotely (at home on the sofa) via ASDM.

Thank you for any insight. THis is making me feel old....very old.

4 Replies 4

You can check the status of the tunnel using

1. show crypto isakmp sa

2. show crypto ipsec sa

Points to check:

1. Check if only 1 map is assigned for the outgoing interface.

2. Check whether the configs at both end are same - authentication, key, hash etc.

3. Check the Access List on both ends.

4. Check whether the peer IP is the Public IP or NAT ip if applicable.

5. Is the interesting traffic defined..