cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IPCC failover

andy.butler
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm seeing a strange problem. I have 2 ipcc servers. 1 primary and one secondary. server a is the primary but it keeps failing over to server B becoming the primary with no apparent reason. we have to reboot server B to force server A to become the Primary.

I'm no expert on IPCC so if anybody can give me any idea's that would be great.

13 Replies 13

Aaron Harrison
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

You'll have to go through the logs in c:\program files\wfavvid\logs to see the cause of the failover.

Search the logs for instances of the word 'exception' around the time of the failover, some will be cryptic but some will clue you in to the cause.

Regards

Aaron

Please rate helpful posts...

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

Gergely Szabo
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

We had a similar problem with one of our installations. Actually, it was due to failing DNS lookups (between the two IPCCX nodes).

Double check whether Netbios and DNS lookups OK (can you ping server1 from server2 by 1. hostname 2. fqdn?)

I am encountering the same issue with a customer. There is no reason for the failover but if you look at the logs the Master and Standby talk and figure out who is going to be the master and for which services.

In my case no all of the services failover, just the majority. It is never the same but the majority of the time it's all but 2-3 of the SQL services.

When TAC was contacted we searched through the logs and found that it was a "network error." So we monitored the switchports and when the next failover occurred and found that the network connections were fine. We believe that the "network error" is a general error and it due to the server being to taxed to read the information off the wire.