cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX 506e- No VPN Access to Inside Network

auroratech
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to the PIX and used the PDM Startup Wizard and VPN Wizard to configure my PIX 506e. I have very simple needs: my inside network connects to the ISP via PPPoE and want to be able to VPN from any outside IP address and access any address on my inside network (via various protocols including ssh).

The basic configuration works fine for all outbound traffic, but there's something wrong with the VPN configuration.

When I use my Cisco VPN client (v.4.9.01) I can authenticate and make the IPSec connection, but can't see any clients on the inside network (I tested with ping and by attempting to access a web page hosted on a client). The remote client's IP address is from the vpnlocal pool that I configured in the Wizard. I didn't think I'd need ACLs to allow specific traffic over the VPN, but I'm stumped as to why I can make the VPN connection successfully, but can't do anything with it.

Attached is the configuration for the PIX. Also attached is the log from the remote Cisco VPN client attempting to make the VPN connection.

Any help will be most appreciated!

Thanks,

Tim

8 Replies 8

acomiskey
Level 10
Level 10

Always use a different subnet for your vpn client pool, not the same as inside subnet.

Add "isakmp nat-traversal" for clients behind nat/pat.

Your nat exemption acl is not correct. Should be something like...

access-list inside_outbound_nat0_acl permit ip 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0

Thanks for the reply. I've made the suggested changes, but still have the same behavior-- I can make a remote connection, but can't access any clients on the inside network.

Attached is an updated configuration file.

Thanks for your help,

Tim

I've resolved my problem, I think, by reconfiguring the subnet mask setting on the firewall to 255.255.0.0 (in addition to assigning vpn pool IP addresses out of the 192.168.2.0 range and enabling nat-traversal).