cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Setup Email Server Behind PIX 501

thenetwerx
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Cisco PIX configurations and need help setting up an email server behind a PIX 501. Actually I am setting up a Barracuda spam filter which will receive the email first for scanning and then it forwards it to an Exchange server.

The PIX is running 6.3.4 and has a default configuration with the exception of VPN setup that someone else configured previously.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

13 Replies 13

Patrick Iseli
Level 7
Level 7

With only one public IP, the outside interface :

Baraccuda server is: 192.168.1.10

Replace the 192.168.1.1o with your internal IP adress and rename my example access-list name < acl_out> with your access-list name if one allready exists.

# Config Access-list :

access-list acl_out permit tcp any interface outside eq smtp

access-group acl_out in interface outside

# Port Adress Translation:

static (inside,outside) tcp interface smtp 192.168.1.10 smtp netmask 255.255.255.255 0 0

Example with a specific public IP of your range. Network Adress Translation example:

# Config:

access-list acl_out permit tcp any host YourPublic-IP1 eq smtp

access-group acl_out in interface outside

static (inside,outside) YourPublic-IP1 Local-IP1 netmask 255.255.255.255 0 0

# Note you may need after changing the NAT or PAT (Translation) to clear the translation table. This will reset all existing sessions.

Command:

clear xlate

Example on Cisco's site:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/products_configuration_example09186a0080094466.shtml

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/prod_configuration_examples_list.html

sincerely

Patrick

Patrick

Thanks for the quick reply Patrick. I will try it out this afternoon and let you know what the results are.