Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN on 877w router - Where to start

trietgiang
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am very new in Cisco and hope you could give some advice. Our office uses Cisco 877W via ADSL2+ connection. Wireless, DHCP, firewall are working ok. We have a Windows 2003 Server as a file server. The boss wants to VPN from home to access the files. I have used SDM to try setup VPN then used VPN Client to test from home but it didn't work. My questions are:

1. I believe the 877w router supports Easy VPN server. Do I need to set the Windows 2003 Server as a VPN server?

2. Is there a step-by-step official instruction to do this? I read the manual but I don't know how to customised those instructions for our case.

3. There is a D-link at the other side (i.e. at home). Do I need to set up port-forwarding or anything like that?

Thank you,

Triet

17 Replies 17

trietgiang
Level 1
Level 1

Here is the current config. Thanks.

haroon.shaikh
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings Triet,

First of all, you need to have a Static IP on your ADSL connection to create a VPN.

Second, it would be a good idea to configure VPN on Cisco router rather than on Windows Server because you need to know a hell lot of details about port forwarding which is as tricky as configuring VPN on router.

Third, look at the below link for instructions on how to configure Cisco Router as VPN server:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps274/products_configuration_example09186a00806ad10e.shtml

D-Link at your boss's home should work fine, let me know.

Also, dont forget to rate this post if you find it helpful....

Cheers,

Haroon

Thank you Haroon,

I have follow the instructions, the connection seems working fine. I can get an IP address from VPN server, I can ping the router IP addresses (both internal and external-WAN address). Other than that, I can't do anything else. Please find the statistic windows attached.

I tried the following:

- ping to a server in the office - FAIL