Views
Helpful
Replies

VRF usage & possibility question

tdistlists
Level 1
Level 1

Hey,

I'm new to VRF, and was wondering if its possible to do the following on 6509 Sup720s.

1. Setup a VRF for the same vlan interface # across a pair of 720s running HSRP for that vlan. (Dont know if this can be done with one EIGRP instance, or if Id need two)

2. Have two layer-2 interfaces (one on each 720) connect to two layer-3 interfaces on two 4506's that are not running any VRF (just using regular EIGRP routing).

3. And then setup a static route for that VRF to a FWSM on the 720.

After any traffic from the 4506s reaches the VRF, it could forward it to the FWSM, which in turn has its own routes to route out of a virtual interface and use the global routing table on the 720, yes?

Is this possible?

Also, if you can provide any docs on VRF (preferably with no MPLS or GRE tunnels -- unless thats its only usage, because thats all I can find) that would be great.

Thanks so much!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

Is the IP 192.168.50.50 the ip address of the VLAN 100 interface, if yes then you should add "ip vrf forwarding NetPro" under interface VLAN 100, which will attach it to the VRF and so any packet in the same VRF can reach it and can resolve its MAC.

Can you attach a network topology if you still have any problems.

HTH,

Mohammed Mahmoud.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

mohammedmahmoud
Level 11
Level 11

Hi there,

First of all, a VRF table consists of:

* an IP routing table

* a derived Cisco Express Forwarding (CEF) table

* a set of interfaces that use the forwarding table

* a set of rules and routing protocol variables that determine what goes into the forwarding table

Accordingly:

You'll need an EIGRP instance for each VRF using address-families, and configure "ip vrf forwarding x" per each layer3 interface under the same VRF.