Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP Weight & Local Preference attributes question

pkapoor
Level 3
Level 3

I am new to BGP.

I would like to better understand how the Cisco implementation of BGP calculates the weight attribute. I would also like to know how Local Preference is calculated/set.

Per the BGP chapter in the Internetworking Technologies Handbook, it says that when Router_A receives a route advertisement from Router_B, it sets the weight to 50. When it receives an advertisement for the same route from Router_C, it sets it to 100. Both Router_B and Router_C are connected to the network advertised in the route update. How does Router_A determine what weight to associate with the route?

I would also like to know how the Local Preference is set. Is it something an admin configures or something that is calculated by the iBGP peers? How do they do this?

Even if I can get some good reading references answering my questions, it would be appreciated.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

mohammedmahmoud
Level 11
Level 11

Hi,

Weight

Local to the router  Never sent in any updates (has no code) -> Used to prefer a route out of the local router when multiple routes to the same destination exists (same idea like Local-Pref) -> May be used to select one of the ISPs when manipulated on the multihomed router (The primary ISP routes should have higher weight than the secondary -> to influence the upload/upstream of the customer).

Since it is local to the router and it is never sent in updates  The default value for routes received from neighbors is 0 while the default value for local sourced routes is 32768

In route selection -> Highest weight is preferred (the Max value is 65535 and the default value is 0 (received routes from other neighbors) or 32768 (local originated) which can be set)

Weight is not considered a BGP Path attribute, it is a Cisco propritary vendor specific attribute

Example:

router bgp 123