Newbie from London UK needs your kind advice on Cisco products

Unanswered Question
May 6th, 2007

Hi folks - I'd be grateful for your advice on which Cisco switch and other componets would be right for me. I'm a newbie to Cisco products. I've been down the hopeless Netgear route - but I need to get serious!

I'll have a Cisco engineer to install - but I find advice on forums like these REALLY helpful. Thanks in advance.

Here's what I need:

10/100 ports - 24 max

VLANS (tagged) and VLAN routing (sometimes called VLAN trunking) ESSENTIAL

Power over ethernet (not essential, but would be nice)

DHCP server (not essential, but would be nice)

This switch will just be used in one office - don't need any facility to link to other switches/gigabit/fibre etc. No do I need any expansion slots etc.

It needs to be able to cope with 100 users surfing the net and email. Plus 100 SIP VoIP phones. (My set-up is totally WiFi for data and voice. 4 x AP's connected to a WiFi controller - which is plugged into the switch. See:

I will have 2 x ADSL 2+ lines, which I would like to bond together for resilience and bandwidth purposes. I think this is the item I need:

Cisco 1841 with 2 x HWIC-1ADSL

But not sure I understand this - do I still need ADSL2+ modems? If I have external modems - what do I need to bond the lines together so all users can share the bandwidth?

And could such a facility be incorporated into the switch with expansion cards etc? Or am I better off having a seperate device?

The above router also has a firewall and VPN which is good for me.

My ADSL providers will provide me with SpeedTouch modem/router/firewall/DHCP. But I wonder if I'd be better off with Cisco products. These may be more stable and better able to handle the traffic. Plus I then have a full Cisco solution.