Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

? - Adding a new IP Block to My Cisco Series 1800

We were assigned a block of 5 IP addresses to use from our Internet Service Provider and recently had to request another block of 5 IP's. We are using a Cisco Series 1800 router and have access to it remotely via a browser/gui.

Unfortunately when this was originally ordered the person didnt request remote management so we have to do this ourselves.

Lets say we were originally given a block of 192.168.91.184/29. We were recently given a new block of 10.8.123.8/29. Now as a Cisco noob I dont understand how this new block would be added to the interface settings on the router. I'd understand if the new block was a contiguous set of IP's off the original block but how do we add this new block to the Series 1800 interface?

The settings in the GUI do not seem to allow the ability to add a block of IP's like this. Does this have to be done command line? If so how do we do that? We have very limited Cisco experience here but we have enough knowledge to get the job done if someone can explain where and how. If there's anything I need to provide here that will better explain the situation please let me know. Thank you in advance for any help you experts can give! :)

5 Replies 5

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

What are you using the new IP addresses for. Generally speaking you would use public IP addresses for NAT purposes.

If this is what you want to do you do not need to add one of the new addresses to your interface. All you need to make sure is that the ISP is routing that new subnet to your router.

Then you can just use normal NAT commands on our router.

Does this make sense ?

HTH

Jon

Wow what a fast response :) Thank you.