cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Dynamic Nat

philip.bonner
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone, First off I want to say this is my first time posting so sorry if I mess something up. I am just beginning, I have purchased a Cisco 871W router and trying to solve a problem. How my current network is set up I have a Network A: 192.168.46.0/24 and Network B 10.47.1.0/24. The 871W router Lan is on Network B and Wan is on Network A. I want to create it to where whenever an IP address is given out on the Lan it will request one from the Wan. The problem is I can't use a present Range. How I have it set up now I have a range:

ip nat pool TestOutside 192.168.46.150 192.168.46.254 netmask 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside source list 5 pool TestOutside

access-list 5 permit 10.47.1.0 0.0.0.255

The problem with that, is there is a chance that the DHCP server can still give out the ip: 192.168.46.151 and I don't want that to happen. If I can get it to where it knows just to get another IP from the DHCP server it will be great. Thanks for the help and sorry for any mistakes I might have made.

9 Replies 9

kerek
Level 4
Level 4

Hello,

It is a bit unclear what you want to achieve.

Can you send a diagram about how your netwrok looks. My impression is you want to avoid that the DHCP server on the WAN interface assign the 192.168.46.150 192.168.46.254 range to hosts other than the router. If the DHCP server is a Cisco router than you can configure "ip dhcp excluded-address" if not I think that somehow can be configured in that way.

Anyway your NAT config is not the best because you try to translate a /24 to 104 addresses without overloading. It is one thing but no problem until less than 104 hosts want to communicate outside.

Hope this helps

Internet ->Cable Modem->[WAN]Router A[LAN]->

[Network A]

Computer A

Switch A

Computer B

[Wan]Router B[LAN]-> [Network B]

Computer C

Computer D