Views
Helpful
Replies

WLC Redundancy

naive.naive
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I will be deploying 2 units of WLC4402, which run as active-passive (all the LAP will be registered to the primary WLC, the secondary WLC will only come up when the primary WLC fails).

Since I will be creating multiple VLAN to be associated to the WLAN(SSID) on both WLC,

1) May I know the VLAN IP address of the 2 WLC are the same or it must be different?

ANd we plan to have the LAP and WLC to be in the same subnet, does that means I will be running on Layer 2?

2) and if this is the case, I do not need DHCP option 45, right?

I'm new to the Unified wireless, and I can't seems to find the answer anywhere..or maybe I'm in the wrong URL..

Thanks in advance.

18 Replies 18

Hi there,

i have reciently set this up for a client and used the floowing great document.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk722/tk809/technologies_configuration_example09186a008064a294.shtml

If you re looking to redundancy then make sure that you have both controlers in the same mobility group and configure each WLC with the others MAC address under the Mobility group section. Controller>> Mobility management> Mobility Groups (4.1.171.0 software)

Also configure the primary and secondary controllers on all AP's (make sure that you you use the controller's system name and not ip address)

also make sure that you have the same WLAN and security configured on each controller.

In answer to you specific questions the ap addresses on the interfaces on the controllers must be different but should be in the same VLAN

No you do not need option 45? (43!) but i would always use it hwere possible.

Best things is give the docement a good read, if you have any more questions, post back

Hope this has helped,

Mark

*Pls rate all useful posts

sorry my typo error, it dhcp option 43...

but i do not have any dns server, can i stil use the system name instead of the ip address?