Where to take your career after 5 years of CCIE???

Unanswered Question
May 14th, 2007
User Badges:

Hi,

I have been racking my brain for the last 6 to 8 months now trying to figure out where to take my career after this!! I got my CCIE on 2002 and ever since then I have had lead presales roles.. lead design Architecture roles... senior consultant roles.. etc.. etc.. basically all technical.. I feel like I'm pigeon holed into this "CCIE" position and that's all it's going to get me till I retire in 40 years time !!!.

I want to ask and hear from people around the world who have been a CCIE for 5+years... "Where do you go next"!!!!

Do you do an MBA??? get into management??? Do you aim for a CIO, or CTO (Technology Officer) role?? but how??

The sky is no longer the limit when it comes to CCIE salaries... so what's the next step???

I look forward to hearing from everyone in my situation.

Regards Armen

Overall Rating: 3 (3 ratings)
armen Tue, 05/15/2007 - 02:27
User Badges:

Gee thanks mate, very helpful, I'll take that on board... It sounds like you've got your career down pat for the next 5 to 10 years !!!

I actually wanted to see what other proactive CCIE's are doing about their careers other than just being a techo.... but Presidency sounds good!!! Look for me at the next elections!!!

Wilson Samuel Tue, 05/15/2007 - 06:07
User Badges:
  • Gold, 750 points or more
  • Community Spotlight Award,

Mobile User, July 2015

Hi Armen,

The real role would come when you work with a SI or System Integrator like Dimension Data or Datacraft-Asia or with Prinicpal itself i.e. Cisco Systems, where in you finally get a Management role i.e. for a technology or product line.

Secondly getting into the Role of CTO or CIO would require your knowledge and experience in the aspect of Project Management and Buisness Administration as well, hence an MBA is generally a good bet.

Kind Regards,

Wilson Samuel

HTH, please rate if helpful

jambo1967 Tue, 05/15/2007 - 15:27