cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Mpls configuration

bravosavino
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a newbie to Mpls. I'm doing my attachment with a service privider. It is presently running bgp in it backbone. Its now considering restructuring and upgrading to bgp/mpls. it will have 4 P routers and 5 PE routers for now. Each PE router will be connected to two other P routers for redunancy.It wants to use IS-IS as it igp.

Can anyone give me the step-by-step configuration on the P routers and PE routers.

Thanks,

Roosevelt

10 Replies 10

mohammedmahmoud
Level 11
Level 11

Hi,

I'll try to list the steps briefly and you can comment on each step:

1.Make sure that the IOSs on the routers supports MPLS and BGP (The IOS should be SP, Enterprise Services, Advanced IP Services or Advanced Enterprise Services).

2.Configure the point-to-point connectivity between all the routers.

3.Configure MPLS (Tag-switching) on all the interfaces between all the routers.

4.Configure ISIS on all the routers and make sure that you can ping all the loopbacks from all the routers.

5.Configure MBGP between all the PE routers (or most recommended have one of them as the RR).

Now you can comment on each step, and good luck :)

HTH, please do rate all helpful replies,

Mohammed Mahmoud.

Thanks for your brief steps. These step gives me the basic idea. They are very helpful. Is there any other thing I need to do?

Let me just give you how the network will look. I will appreciated your advice or suggestion. I want you to please give me the sample configuration on at least PE router 1, P router 1, and P router 2. you can give assume lookback address and interfaces address.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,

Roosevelt

Hi,

Please check the attached configuration template as a good starting guide.

I hope that i've been informative, and please do come back if you have further questions.

Mohammed Mahmoud.

Hi,

Sorry forgot to attach the file.

here you are.

BR,

Mohammed Mahmoud.