cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

NEW @ IPS

a.shaukat
Level 1
Level 1

hi.. im new to IPS .. i got my sensor back again ( lost the previous password) . so i reinstalled IPS v 5.0 and upgraded to 6.0.

Ran the initial setup with basic ACLs

what more ?? whats the virtual sensor for ?

what does the licensing feature do ? like what can or cant i do with or without it ?

emm anything else that can help me getting started.. with it..

7 Replies 7

mhellman
Level 7
Level 7

You'll need the sensor licensed in order to install signature updates. They're pretty critical.

"whats the virtual sensor for ?"

In version 6, you can have a multiple virtual sensors. Each virtual sensor can have a unique signature policy, event action rules policy, and anomaly detection policy. You apply the virtual sensor to a physical or logical interface. Being new, I would recommend just working with the defaults for now (a single virtual sensor). Are you using the GUI to manage?

Hi,

well i used the cli initially to reimage the sensor and upgrade it to 6.0 ..

i ran the setup from the cli as well.

so i have both options...

what would u recommend. ?

any reading material that i should go about..

i was reading the IPS device manager 6.0 guide.

Sounds like you're well on your way. The GUI is pretty much necessary to do some of the more complex configurations effectively.

What about "inline interface pair"? as well as "Inline VLAN Pair"?

I'm not sure what you're asking.

i have 4 interfaces on my ASA :

1-inside sec-level 100 (connects the server farm in the head office)

2-outside sec-level 0 (used to connect to the internet router)

3-LAN_DMZ sec-level 100 (connects all uses LAN of the head office)

4-Branch_DMZ sec-level 100 (connects to the core router that has all the remote branches termination on it via dsl or p2p radio)

So like which interface(s) should i include in the virtual sensor(s)