Zero and Broacast Subnet issues

Unanswered Question
May 16th, 2007

Hello,

I am studying for CCNA. I have 2 questions about IP subnetting and broadcast subnet.

One, if you use the /25 mask for an address and it gives you 2 subnets according to the rule of # of bits ^2 -2 you would have 2 unusable subnets. My subnets calculators do not seem to indicate they are unusable. OK, so some say using the zero subnet is fine in real world. so that would leave me with one in a real world scenario. How's this dealt with on the CCNA test?

Second question is what the heck is a broadcast subnet? I keep reading that it is when all the subnet bits are 1s. But that doesn't tell me what it does or what is being broadcast. What is it and can I use it in real-world scenarios for hosts and how is that treated on CCNA test?

Thank you!

Marc in WA

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
marcsharc Wed, 05/16/2007 - 12:51

Actually, in my Cisco Press CCNA Exam Prep books there is a chart that shows that with 1 subnet bit you get 0 subnets or hosts (my math above was wrrrrong!) So how does the /25 work?

Marc in WA

Rudy_Rawlins Wed, 05/16/2007 - 15:17

First off Marc if you would control your anxiety and study your material you would be able to answer your questions.

Also asking about what is given in an exam is a violation of Cisco rules and is unethical.

marcsharc Wed, 05/16/2007 - 15:22

Wow, I didn't realize my anxiety was so apparent. I didn't mean to ask what was on the test regarding these questions, I'm really just trying to understand. I hear conflicting information about what is the proper way to use the zero and broadcast subnets.

Thanks for nothing.

dgoodridge Thu, 05/17/2007 - 03:34

Hi Marc,

Hopefully I can help with your queries but I'm not entirely sure I know what you're asking.