Views
Helpful
Replies

6500 Native Software Architecture - RP and SP versions of code

kfarrington
Level 3
Level 3

Guys,

I am not an expert on the 6500 series by any means, but I am just wondering how the switch software boots and works?

In the following, it looks like I have two versions of code, 1 for the RP and one for the SP.

SWITCH#sh ver

Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software

IOS (tm) s72033_rp Software (s72033_rp-PK9SV-M), Version 12.2(17d)SXB5, RELEASE

SOFTWARE (fc1)

SWITCH#remote command switch show version

IOS (tm) s72033_sp Software (s72033_sp-SPV-M), Version 12.2(17d)SXB5, RELEASE SO

FTWARE (fc1)

Same versions, just differnt features maybe,

ie

s72033_rp Software (s72033_rp-PK9SV-M)

vs

s72033_sp Software (s72033_sp-SPV-M)

Can anyone explain how this all works, ie, when a switch boots up, it installs the SP version, and then the RP version, or how this software interoperates with each other?

I assume that both IOS images (if they are two distinc images) are stored in the one IOS image I have loaded on the bootdisk?

Just some software architecutre advise or reference to some documents explaining this would be fantastic?

Many thx indeed, as always,

Ken

3 Replies 3

ankbhasi
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Ken,

There is no seperate image for sup and msfc when you are running Native IOS. There is onle single integrated image.

Native mode mandates that both CPUs (SP and RP) run the full Cisco IOS Software operating system. There is no hidden Catalyst software running in the switch and the executable images used by both CPUs run the complete IOS kernel.

Native IOS Software requires the single image to be present on a device local to the sup because it is a bundled image for two processors and the SP boots first.