Salary Question, with past experience. Good Read. (May apply to others)

Unanswered Question
May 17th, 2007

I have 3.5 years of Network Administration experience in the defense industry. I am self taught, with no certifications yet. I have CCNA book wendel odom, INTRO/ICND, Sybex Book, bought the Boson router, and didnt download a cracked copy.

I have been exposed to Exchange 2003, Websense, Pix Firewalls, VPN Concentrators, Veritas, 9 server environment with a wan consisting of 6 offices.

I am 1-2 years away from a 4 yr degree in business, and I assume 3-4 months from attempting to take my CCNA cert.

In two years I will have 5.5-6 yrs of exp, and maybe even a CCNP by then, or higher , Ihave no way to gauge certification progress after CCNA.

Once this two years pass, and I am where I stated, what are salaries for that type of experience in your areas. Would like input from others around America, and possibly the world.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 4 (1 ratings)
scottmac Sat, 05/19/2007 - 05:28

Even for a given area, I think you'll find a pretty broad range of salaries for a given occupational level.

Some of the variables are things like whether you are hired as an employee, or as a contractor through an agency, the nature of the business (and the scope of the business), and the hours associated with the job (day/ evening / night, on-call, Day + some nights & weekends for maintenance ...).

Many large organizations are hiring by way of a contractor job ... they hire you as a contractor, then bring you on as an employee later (sometimes 6 months to two years). As a contractor, you may or may not get the same pay and benefits as an employee.

Banks & financial institutions (fund managers, for example) tend to pay higher, but, due to the critical nature of the job, may also expect you to be on-call/available 24X7 in case of problems.