cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

multiple BGP AS on router

hegleran
Level 1
Level 1

I'm rather new to BGP and am looking at redesigning a section of our global WAN, but have found myself stuck. North America WAN is routing bgp over mpls. We have two locations in South America, one connected to the North America WAN, the other connected via a new mpls circuit from a different provider (SA)to the first South America location. Currently the location that has the new mpls circuit (P) is using all static routes to route traffic to the other South American location (JSA), which then connects to another router in the same location (JNA) back to the North America WAN (NA):

(NA) - (JNA) - (JSA) - (SA) - (P)

First, I am planning on consolidating the J location to one physical router:

(NA) - (J) - (SA) - (P)

Not a big deal there.

Next I would like to implement a routing protocol in South America WAN (SA) to avoid the constant need of updating static routes, etc if new facilities open and connect via that provider. This is challenging me as I will probably need to route BGP between the two providers. Could I run two bgp processes on the (J)router, one for each of the two autonomous systems (for NA and for SA), and then bidirectionally redistribute the routes between the two processes?

(NA)-(BGP65500 J BGP65600)-(SA)-(BGP65600 P)

Or, is this redistribution even necessary? Would the routing occur via eBGP between the two processes as they would simply be routes between two autonomous systems?

I suppose one final option would be to keep both routers in place and run the NA BGP AS on JNA and implement the SA BGP AS on JSA and P:

NA)BGP65500(JNA) BGP65600(JSA)BGP65600(P)