in the beginning...

Unanswered Question
May 30th, 2007

Hi guys!

Im after a reality check really, im currently working in customer services for a company and they have got some openings in the infrastructure department and im going to apply.

I have no previous experience of networking except setting up a home network and being involved in a couple of small projects with this team and to be honest no real IT qualifications to speak of, although they will provide support for these. The problem is mainly my lack of experience and knowledge, is there anyone else out there who has made this jump and if so how'd it go? im looking to get CCNA as soon as possible but have a feeling its best to go for something else first...i know its a big ask but i have lots of support and providing i get the job, the hands on too!

any thoughts, experiences or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks

Sharpy

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
suelange Wed, 05/30/2007 - 15:21

Well, Sharpy, Good luck to you first off. I admire your courage. Nothing like jumping in with both feet.

Not knowing your company or the job description I can't say if you would be able to overcome the learning curve or not. But as to "should you apply?" Of course.

Presumably they already know what you are capable of. If they look at your resume, which will reflect a lack of experience, but they hire you anyway, then you should feel pretty comfortable that THEY see a lot of potential in you.

But if they don't hire you, then it doesn't mean you don't have potential, it only means they need someone who can 'hit the ground running'.