Deleting Old Devices in Ciscoworks

Answered Question
Jun 1st, 2007

I am trying to delete old devices from ciscoworks that are no longer on the network. When I go to Device Fault Manager and go to Rediscover/Delete, I am unable to delete the items listed. Is there another place within Ciscoworks to delete the devices?

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by jreekers about 9 years 6 months ago

Hi Chris,

From the online help:

Deleting Devices

The DFM Rediscover/Delete Devices page allows you to delete devices from the DFM inventory (local deletion). It does not affect the DCR (all DCR device management is performed from the Common Services home page).

When a device is deleted from the DCR (which can only be done from the Common Services

home page), it is automatically deleted from DFM, regardless of the synchronization

setting. If you want to delete an alias device, use Common Services > Device and

Credentials > Device Management.

When you delete a device from the DFM inventory and DFM is configured to use manual

synchronization, the deleted device will appear in the Device Selector (in the Devices Not in Device Fault Manager field). A deleted device will not be readded when DFM inventory collection is performed.

Local deletions are disabled when DFM is configured to use automatic synchronization.

While a device is being deleted, DFM will not allow any rediscovery, suspend, or resume

operations to be performed on the device. When you delete a containing device, all of the contained devices are deleted.

Depending upon the load that exists on the system, DFM takes approximately 15 to 40

seconds to delete a device

Your login determines whether you can perform this operation.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Step 1 From the DFM home page, select Device Management > Rediscover/Delete. The

Rediscover/Delete Devices page appears.

If you are connecting to the DFM server for the first time, a Security Alert window is

displayed after you select nearly any option. Do not proceed without viewing and

installing the security certificate.

Step 2 Select the device or group that you want to delete.

Step 3 Click Delete.

Step 4 In the confirmation box, click Yes.

**************************

Check DCR to see if the device is there, and if so, delete it there. Please let me know how it goes.

HTH,

-Joe R.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Loading.
jreekers Fri, 06/01/2007 - 09:49

Hi Chris.

Can you please tell me what version of Ciscoworks (LMS) you're running?

Regards,

-J

Correct Answer
jreekers Fri, 06/01/2007 - 10:09

Hi Chris,

From the online help:

Deleting Devices

The DFM Rediscover/Delete Devices page allows you to delete devices from the DFM inventory (local deletion). It does not affect the DCR (all DCR device management is performed from the Common Services home page).

When a device is deleted from the DCR (which can only be done from the Common Services

home page), it is automatically deleted from DFM, regardless of the synchronization

setting. If you want to delete an alias device, use Common Services > Device and

Credentials > Device Management.

When you delete a device from the DFM inventory and DFM is configured to use manual

synchronization, the deleted device will appear in the Device Selector (in the Devices Not in Device Fault Manager field). A deleted device will not be readded when DFM inventory collection is performed.

Local deletions are disabled when DFM is configured to use automatic synchronization.

While a device is being deleted, DFM will not allow any rediscovery, suspend, or resume

operations to be performed on the device. When you delete a containing device, all of the contained devices are deleted.

Depending upon the load that exists on the system, DFM takes approximately 15 to 40

seconds to delete a device

Your login determines whether you can perform this operation.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Step 1 From the DFM home page, select Device Management > Rediscover/Delete. The

Rediscover/Delete Devices page appears.

If you are connecting to the DFM server for the first time, a Security Alert window is

displayed after you select nearly any option. Do not proceed without viewing and

installing the security certificate.

Step 2 Select the device or group that you want to delete.

Step 3 Click Delete.

Step 4 In the confirmation box, click Yes.

**************************

Check DCR to see if the device is there, and if so, delete it there. Please let me know how it goes.

HTH,

-Joe R.

Actions

This Discussion