Views
Helpful
Replies

CSS Back-end SSL/SSL Initiation

dobri
Level 1
Level 1

Fellas,

I apologise if this question is too silly but I am a novice to CSSes...

I need to configure a CSS to initiate SSL sessions to servers. Basically, I have a client that will need to initiate clear text sessions to various servers, and the CSS inbetween the client and the server needs to initiate an SSL session to the server on behalf of the client, and then tunnel clear text traffic from the client within the SSL session to he server. I DON'T want to provide the list of all the 400+ servers that this client needs to acccess - so I just want traffic on a specific port, regardless of the destination server IP address to be encapsulated within SSL.

Looking at the CSS documents, this seems to be called Back-end SSL, although all the configuration examples also show SSL termination as well. Also, in all the configuration examples the IP addresses of the SSL servers need to be predefined, which is what I am trying to avoid.

I have done such transparent SSL from a client to a server with SSL Modules in 6500s, and I also know it's possible to do the same on an ACE. Does the CSS support such scenarios? If so, what is the reference for this?

Thanks.

Regards,

Dob

4 Replies 4

skumar1969
Level 1
Level 1

If I get you correctly, you are after SSL initiation. A clear-http traffic from the browser PC to CSS. And then a ssl-http from the CSS to the servers. Question is why would you want to secure the backend traffic. If ou try to conceal the 400+ servers, which is not the correct reason to go for an ssl at backend. When you use clear text everywhere your 400+ are actually concealed and no browser PC would ever see who they are talking to, because from their perspective it is the CSS on behalf of those 400+ servers.

Feel free to give more details. We can help you better.

Thanks