Views
Helpful
Replies

Help - CCNA/CCNP lab

mikefischman
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm just getting started and need some help. I'm buying some inexpensive used equipment and didn't want to buy more than I needed. I definately want to go with actual equipment instead of something like the Boson simulator software. I already have two 2514 routers and two 2924 switches and wanted to add two more routers and one switch. I was thinking of 2610's and a 2950. I need to figure out what interfaces to add to the 2610's.

Can I simulate frame relay using a WIC-2T interface and back-to-back DCE/DTE cables connecting to the 2514's or do I need to go with an NM-4A/S? Is there a difference between a WIC-2T card and an NM-4A/S card where I can only use one to simulate frame relay and not the other?

For learning about and practicing with VLAN's, VTP and STP etc., if I have three switches (2924, 2924, 2950) is there any reason why I would need a fast ethernet module such as the NM-1FE-TX in a router as opposed to just a regular 10MB NM-1E1R2W? I read that the TX version supports virtual LAN (VLAN) deployment however I'm not sure what additional benefit the TX version would give me if I have three switches. If anyone has any information or suggestions it would be very helpful.

I really need help finding out what interfaces to buy to get 'hands-on experience' and learn how to configure frame relay, VLANs, VTP, STP etc.

Thanks

6 Replies 6

CSCO10892433
Level 4
Level 4

Hi, mike

1)Can I simulate frame relay using a WIC-2T interface and back-to-back DCE/DTE cables connecting to the 2514's or do I need to go with an NM-4A/S?

Both can do the job. Notice that Wic-2T has only 2 interfaces per card. You need to buy 2 Wic-2T cards to make 4 interfaces in total.

2) the difference between NM-4A/S and wic-2T

The maximum speed of NM-4A/S is 128000 bit/sec , wic-2T is much higer than that.