Views
Helpful
Replies

Unified Communications help required !

kpawankumar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

I am new to the field of unified comms and cisco in general... and im in general confused about all the equipment that would be required for a small to medium sized business such as ours..

we have 100 users at HQ and 2 branch offices and a few remote users.

We need VOIP , wireless access, conferencing facilities etc at the HQ and hopefully connectivity through VPN connections to the remote sites.

Can anyone suggest the hardware i should be looking at ?

I was thinking of a Cisco 3845 series router.. dunno which modules i'd need. and Cat 500 PoE switches and maybe some wireless access points... what else do i need?

Would appreciate any help on this... will def give a high rating to the user who is able to hit the nail right onto the target :)

3 Replies 3

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

A 3845 or even a 3825 will surely do what you need. There is a feature called "CCME" by which the IP phones, cisco or other brand, will work like a feature-rich PBX without additional components. In the branch offices you can use smaller router like the 2801 with the same CCME feature.

For the switches, the smaller model that cisco makes, with PoE support is the CE-500, unfortunately these switches don't enjoy much of a reputation among professionals.

The 2960 models are only layer 2 switches, this is not a problem in itself, but they have no POE that is very important in IP telephony to eliminate the ugly power bricks that are so cluttering for the desk.

The next models that supports PoWE are the 3560, then the 3750 that is stackable with an highspeed backbone. There is also a version of the 3750 with 48 ports and PoE that fits inside the router in case you like a super-integrated solution.