cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Third Party SIP Phone and CM 5.x

tpolimine
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, im new to SIP, but have been working with CallManager for years. I can successfully configure a Cisco 79xx phone running SIP in CallManager, but having problems registering a 3rd party phone. Im sure im missing something. Im working with a Polycom IP500 running SIP 2.0.3.0.127. Does anyone have any tips on 3rd party SIP phone configuration? BTW, the phone seems to be recognized by the CallManager, its has the IP address and Registration state says "Rejected".

Thanks in advance,

Tom...

14 Replies 14

Aaron Harrison
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Tom

I've been trying this this week with my Nokia E61 (no luck yet) but this document may be of use:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/voice/c_callmg/5_1/nci/p01/b09sip3p.htm

I'm going to try with a softphone next..

I think the main difference is to do with how 3rd party phones authenticate.

Aaron

Please rate helpful posts...

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

I have configured like 5-6 type of SIP phones to Cisco CCM 5.

Including Nokia E61 (registering without any problems to Asterisk and CCM5), Linksys, Aastra, GrandStream.

The only crap that makes troubles are the TigerNetcom IPPH phones, but their SIP stack is a mess.

For Nokia E61, watch what realm has been configured on the CCM. It must match the realm of the Nokia E61. Show me a SIP debug output and I will tell you what to correct.

Aaron, thanks the link was useful, i did get it working finally. The most important thing i was missing was an external TFTP sever.

thanks

Tom...

Good to hear!

Aaron

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

Hi,

I have a Nokia E65 SIP client registred with CCM 5.0.