Supervisior II & Supervisior IV

Unanswered Question
Jun 20th, 2007

How can the supervisior II & supervisior IV differs?

what are the managable operations in both supervisior.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
mohammedmahmoud Wed, 06/20/2007 - 02:20


The root difference between both is that supervisor II runs CatOS while supervisor IV runs IOS.


Mohammed Mahmoud.

smothuku Wed, 06/20/2007 - 02:20

Hi Prakash ,

The Catalyst 4000/4500 Supervisor Engine IV delivers integrated resiliency and non-blocking Cisco Express Forwarding (CEF)-based Layer 2/3/4 switching at 48 Mpps to further enhance control of converged networks. Key intelligent services, based on proven Cisco IOS software, include granular Quality of Service (QoS), predictable performance, advanced security, comprehensive manageability and integrated resiliency. Integrated resiliency, via redundant Supervisor Engine IV support in a Catalyst 4507R, minimizes downtime for enterprise and service provider converged network deployments. The Supervisor Engine IV is compatible with the new Catalyst 4500 Series chassis, the widely deployed Catalyst 4006 chassis, and existing Catalyst 4000 Family line cards for maximum deployment flexibility.

Cisco Catalyst 4006 Supervisor Engine 3

The Catalyst 4000 Family Supervisor Engine III delivers integrated, non-blocking, Cisco Express Forwarding (CEF)-based Layer 2/3/4 switching at 48 Mpps with intelligent services such as granular Quality of Service (QoS), advanced security, and comprehensive manageability for control of converged data, voice, and video networks.

Cisco Catalyst 4000 Supervisor Engine 2

The Catalyst 4000 Family Supervisor Engine II delivers high performance Layer 2 switching at 24 Gbps, 18 Mpps with intelligent services, based on Catalyst OS, for enhancing LAN scalability, flexibility and security.




This Discussion