WLC 4402 vlan questions

Unanswered Question
Jul 3rd, 2007
User Badges:

I am trying to implement a Cisco Wireless solution. I have some Cisco knowledge, but it is limited. I did successfully configure the WLC 4402 with 1200 series APs. Created two WLANs, each with its own SSID. SSID ?guest? uses WEP, and gets addresses via the internal DHCP server. The DCHP range I chose exists within out current network, something I need to change according to the documentation I have read. This network should not see our network, but can browse the internet. SSID ?secure? uses WPA with MAC authentication. I can connect to either SSID and access all network resources. However this only works with two caveats.

1) I have to use the management interface

2) The DHCP range for the guest network needs to fall within our network

Trying to implement any kind of security for the ?guest? network has not gone so well. I have problems just about at every point. After reading some documents, I decided I needed to add 2 interfaces for the 2 WLANs. My interface info is below.

Interface Name Mgr Port Vlan Id IP Address Type Ap

-------------------------------- ---- -------- --------------- ------- ----

ap-manager LAG untagged 10.1.104.154 Static Yes

guest LAG 10 192.168.10.10 Dynamic No

management LAG untagged 10.1.104.153 Static No

production LAG 20 192.168.20.20 Dynamic No

service-port N/A N/A 192.168.1.1 Static No

virtual N/A N/A 1.1.1.1 Static No

My intention was to apply an access list the guest VLAN so as to limit its traffic. If I apply the guest interface ?VLAN 10 (instead of the management-VLAN 0) it doesn?t work. I found a doc that addresses this so I added trunking to the interface the WLC is attached to on our 6509 (CatOS)switch.

MySwitch (enable) set trunk 2/6 on dot1q