cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CSS Loadbalancing without natting??

gabrielbryson
Level 1
Level 1

Im rather new to CSS, is it possible to config load balancing but not natting the address, ie the vip address in on the same subnet as the servers providing services???

6 Replies 6

Gilles Dufour
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

you want the css loadbalance but not replace the vip address with the server address ?

if yes, the solution is to use the command 'type transparent' under the service configuration.

Gilles.

Thanks for that Gilles, in doing that would i just assign both the inbound and outbound interface to the same vlan, as my css will be inside a single DMZ subnet and therefore will really never have to route into other vlans?

the fact that your inbound and outbound interfaces are in the same vlan, is not related to the question of nating or not.

If the true question is 'can we put the CSS inline between firewall and servers' then the answer is yes. Simply put the interfaces in the same vlan.

But that's not a reason not to nat.

I mean, traffic can be routed or bridged without nating but traffic that hit a content rule should normally be nated.

We can prevent it with the command I gave you in my first answer, but I do not think that's what you want to do.

Gilles.

Maybe he's after using destination services unless the servers all respond to the VIP addr? If he's load-balancing in the same subnet, then I think destination services (to source nat) are the only option.