cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Router Set-up and Configuration

paulgrg22
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a newbie to cisco my problem is on how to set-up a cisco router 1700 series how could i configure it using the console and do i used rollover RJ-45?any help regarding this?because i set-up my small internet connection using my router and modem

15 Replies 15

royalblues
Level 10
Level 10

all you have to do is configure IP addresses on the interfaces and a defualt route

eg. your inside LAN connects to Fa0/0

int fa 0/0

ip address 10.10.10.1 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside

no shut

int fa 0/1

description connecting to internet

ip adddress

ip nat outside

no shut

access-list 100 permit ip 10.10.10.0 0.0.0.255 any

ip nat pool internet interface fastethernet 0/1 overload

ip nat inside source list 100 pool internet

HTH

Narayan

how could i do this in the router how could i connect my router to pc so that i can configure it??what is Fa0/0?

HI Paul, [Pls rate if Helps]

See below the Link for step-by-step procedure for connecting PC to Router:

http://www-tss.cisco.com/eservice/compass/common/tasks/task_console_port_connect.htm

Pls Rate if HELPS

Best Regards,

Guru Prasad R

what's the next thing i do once i connect it to console how can i configure it

plug the blue cable in the router(rj45-console port) and the other end to your computer (serial port). turn on the router

open hyterterminal program on your connected pc set things to default settings and select com port (1 or 3)

press connect and hit enter a couple of times.. you will see Router> prompt.

type "enable" the prompt will change to Router#

type "show ip interface brief" to see how many interfaces you have on the router.

FastEthernet0/0

FastEthernet0/1

type "config terminal"

prompt will change to Router(config)#

type interface fastEthernet0/0

prompt will change to Router(config-if)#

now type "ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0"