LAN redesign advice

Unanswered Question
Jul 11th, 2007
User Badges:

Greetings,

I'm a rookie so apologies in advance for any mistakes. I'm redesigning my LAN and thinking of a collapsed core/dist--access design with L3 links from core/dist to access. I don't need to span VLANs across switches, want to segment broadcast domains, and not deal with STP across switches and into core/dist.

I currently have a 6509 and 4x 3750 Stackwise stacks all linked (hub&spoke) w/ L2 Gig EtherChannel trunks. I'd like to use the 6509 and a new 3750G as my core with a L2 GEC trunk between them; can't afford another 6k/4k and like the StackWise capabilities of the 3750G for growth. Production servers and SAN will be connected to the core switches on spanned VLANs with multiple network connections from each server/SAN to the 6509 and 3750G. I would also use the existing 3750 stacks as access layer with L3 links back to the core, GEC to the 6509 and a single fiber connect to the 3750G to form a triangle. BTW I don't plan on using any routing protocols just static since: I don't have that many networks, I've segmented to minimize # of routes and I only have Std/Base IOS images. I also don't plan on running VTP which hopefully won't have any impact.

My questions are:

1) Any changes/recommendations? Will this even work?

2) According to Cisco design guidlines for L3 access-to-dist interconnections (see RST-2032 pg 69) the connection between the dist switches should be L3. In my design, it's an L2 GEC trunk between the 6509 and 3750G to span VLANs. I'm breaking away from best practice guidelines but I don't know of any other way to span VLANs besides trunking.