cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Intervlan routing Question

jconnacher
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Cisco devices and am working on getting a 4507 Calalyst set up as the core switch for our building. I set up 4 vlans and configured each with an appropriate ranged IP address. I then assigned specified ports on the switch to the appropriate vlan but traffic will not cross the subnets. What am I missing? Any thoughts or ideas? This also happens when I connect any of my 3560 switches over a trunk port if they're on one of the other vlans also. Almost seems like the Catalyst isn't doing the layer 3 routing that it's supposed to?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The default gateway statement does not provided routing capability. You need to create a static default route for this to happen:

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 164.156.24.1

However, if you are unable to ping work station to workstation that are connected to ports directly on the switch then there is another problem.

With the workstations connected are you able to ping the respective Vlan interfaces associated with these devices?

If you do a "show IP interface brief" do the VLAN interfaces indicate they are up?

Are the workstations connected to ports in the appropriate VLAN and are these interfaces up and do they have the proper default gateway (VLAN IP) configured?

All things to check at this point, and then proceed form there.

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

chrihussey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Check the configuration....do you see "no ip routing" in the configuration? If so, then it needs to be changed to "ip routing".

When doing a show run. I don't see either listed anywhere. I just typed that command at the standard config t location, as well as getting into the interface vlans and trying it there. Did a write first, but I see nothing about routing anywhere when I do another show run.

Can you send a config and include "sh vtp status" and "sh version" output?