What is the benefit to be a CCIE?

Unanswered Question
jcrussell Mon, 07/16/2007 - 04:40

Every salary survey I have seen puts CCIEs well into the US $100,000 per year range. Not to mention it is probably the most respected certification in the industry. Exactly what kind of returns are you expecting?

srue Mon, 07/16/2007 - 12:14

add to that respect. also, you can bypass the Tier I TAC engineers if you're a CCIE (or something to that effect)

tlynnm4591 Sun, 07/22/2007 - 08:44

How realistic is it, in today's market that a person passing the CCIE can even get a job. The salary surveys are common knowledge. But beyond holding a CCIE, what other parameters went into play for these survey participants. How many years experience, in IT? How many other certifications? College education? Don't get me wrong here, I'm not doubting the survey, again, everyone knows what CCIE make. I want some insight from people who have gone through this process. Personally, I have an MBA and 15 years experience but only about 6 years experience working with very small networks. (2 routers, frewall, 16 switches, 100 users, example). My only other IT experience is A+ certification and 32 weeks time logged in college lab for CCNA (does that even count as experience?) Please understand, I am not being negative, I want to be educated on this process, but from a realistic and enlightened view point. At my current point, what can I expect salary wise if I earn CCNA? CCNP? CCIE? I know the basics of CCNA exam by hard and have 8 router lab sitting in closet collecting dust. I dont want to waste time on going further if there is no real payback. I guess my concern is my experience. I can pass the CCNP and CCIE in another year, Im sure because I have been at studying for over three years already. But I can't beleive, just because you earn a CCIE, and cana really demonstrate your knowledge (not brain dump guy) that you are going to be put in a position to earn anywhere close to $100,000. I just cant